The 'Cercle des nageurs de Marseille'

The "Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille" is a non-profit association committed to "providing sports coaching to its members, and especially its young members". The association has successively been chaired by Eugène Tisson (1921-1924), Jean Alezard (1924-1966), Albert Vahouni (1966-1990) and Paul Leccia (since 1990).

The "Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille" was designed in 1921 by Spanish-born architect Picornell, who also designed the Barcelona and Casablanca Swimmers Circles. It is amusing to note that the logos of these three major clubs all bear a triangle and seagull.

It has always remained firmly committed to the values of olympism and sport, while continuing to uphold the brotherly spirit which has made it, over and above a simple club, the genuine family it is today.

The "Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille" is first and foremost a sports club. Its water polo team has won the French championship no less than 36 times (and been awarded on a European level for enrolling the largest number of participants in the European Cup in 40 years). Top French swimmers such as Alex Jany, Joseph Bernardo, Robert Christophe, Jean-Jacques Moine and, just recently, Gilot, Bousquet and Lacourt, have all flown the Circle's flag over the years.

www.cnmarseille.com

Le Cercle des nageurs de Marseille

Le Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille est une association type loi 1901 dont le but principal est de « propager parmi ses membres, et plus particulièrement parmi la jeunesse, l’enseignement du sport »(Article 1er). Les présidents successifs ont été Eugène Tisson (1921-1924), Jean Alezard (1924-1966), Albert Vahouni (1966-1990) et Paul Leccia (Depuis 1990).

Le Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille a été créé en 1921 par l’architecte d’origine espagnole Picornell qui créera également le Cercle des Nageurs de Barcelone et le Cercle des Nageurs de Casablanca. Il est d’ailleurs amusant de constater que ces trois grands clubs ont les mêmes composantes dans leur logo : triangle et mouette.

Durant toutes ces années le Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille a essayé de porter les valeurs de l’olympisme et de la vertu sportive au firmament et ce, dans un esprit fraternel qui fait du Cercle plus qu’un club sportif, une véritable famille.

Le Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille reste avant tout un club sportif. Son équipe de water-polo 36 fois championne de France (et récompensée au niveau européen pour son plus grand nombre de participations à la Coupe d’Europe en 40 ans) et des grands noms de la natation française tels que Alex Jany, Joseph Bernardo, Robert Christophe, Jean-Jacques Moine, et maintenant les Gilot, Bousquet, Lacourt… ont su porter haut les couleurs du Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille au fil du temps.

www.cnmarseille.com