Rosé: The Colour of Summer


Provence: France's leading rosé wine producer

Rosé production –similarly to other wines - is not governed or defended by any legal texts, so the controversy that arose some time ago over mixing whites and reds is far from over. Considered as somewhat inferior to its red and white peers for many years, rosé has now become the colour of summer and consumer enthusiasm has prompted wine makers to make genuine progress and vie for excellence. Today's choice of thirst-quenching pale ('grey'), fruity and dry rosés is not only vast, but first-rate too.

Apero time !

Cellar of 'rosé'

Rosé is the oldest-known wine and first appeared on Mediterranean shores well over a thousand years ago. The study of Greek and Egyptian representations shows that pale wines resembling rosés were elaborated from crushed or pressed grapes, without maceration (which is the basis of red wine). Monks were also fans of this 'vinum clarum', the ancestor of Bordeaux's Clairet rosé. The Renaissance too had a taste for this wine that was neither white nor red, as reflected in the details of carafes and glasses shown in Flemish and Dutch paintings. Reds only started to gain ground over rosés in the 18th century. After the phylloxera crisis, the vineyards were replanted with red grape varieties and although rosés had reigned over the wine world for centuries, tastes switched very clearly to red. Rosé wine fell more or less into disrepute on the wine market, and has only won recognition again fairly recently. But today, rosé is the word! Consumption has tripled in the last 20 years and represented one-third of all wine consumption in 2013. Friendly-priced, thirst-quenching, varied, easy and pretty, rosé has brought a wind of change to our dinner tables.

A rose or a 'rosé' ?

"When wine is open you have to drink it- especially if it's good"
-Marcel Pagnol

Wine was first grown in Provence – France's biggest rosé producer – by the Phocean Greeks, who planted vines all the way into Marseille. It would be fair to say that the city, then called Massilia, was born thanks to wine. Grape seeds have recently been found during archaeological digs in the Bourse quarter. The local vineyards offer up magnificent and varied landscapes: Provence's Wine Route spans stunning natural sites such as Sainte Victoire mountain and the hills of Bandol, overlooking the translucent waters of the Côte Bleue coast. Wine is as intrinsic to Provence as thyme and rosemary. Vines thrive throughout the region on stony ground, rubbing shoulders with olive groves. In fact, wine and olive oil are frequently grown together! Wine and gastronomy have also taken a cultural turn in Provence in recent years, with many high-level artistic events hosted by the local vineyards including 'Art & Wine in the Var' at various domains, Opera Evenings at Château Thuerry and Art & Architecture at Château La Coste, cleverly combining pleasures of the palate and the mind... Rosé wines also have pride of place in the South simply because local dishes, such as lamb en croûte, stuffed vegetables, sea bass with fennel, grilled sardines and artichoke barigoule, were made for it…. Whether fish or meat, the Mediterranean's aromatic cuisine is always better paired with pink. The region is home to some rare grape varieties too: the Cinsault grape grown in Cassis offers up pale, fruity and delicate rosés, while Grenache and Mourvèdre grapes add structure and character a little further down the road in Les-Baux-de-Provence. Provence's salmon-tinted rosés are light, fruity, tender, racy and aromatic, pairing perfectly with the flavours of the Med.

Things to do

Château de Calavon

Château de Calavon


Une magnifique cave en plein centre de la petite ville de Lambesc. Mariant tradition et modernité, le Château de Calavon produit des vins depuis l’époque des Princes d’Orange. Des trésors de goût à découvrir au cœur d’une ville au charme ancien.

Bars and Cafés

Bars and Cafés

Where to have a pleasant drink in the Bouches-du-Rhône? Bars, cafés or tea rooms: check out our online selection now!

01 January to 23 December
Wine tasting every Friday night "from the vine to the olive tree"

Wine tasting every Friday night "from the vine to the olive tree"

Salon de Provence

3 types of tasting:-"The Cave open": participants choose bottles they want to enjoy.-Tasting themed": Valley of the Rhone, Burgundy, Whisky, etc...-"Presence of a vigneron (ne)": the vigneron (ne) presents its wines.

The entire agenda



The Olive

Read more

The Sun

Read more

Christmas in Provence and 'Santon' Figurines

Read more
More inspirations

Serving tourism

Bouches-du-Rhône Tourisme is a non-profit ‘association loi 1901’ organisation.It is entrusted by the Conseil Départemental (or regional council) to promote tourism in Bouches-du-Rhône while respecting the environment and local residents, and guaranteeing visitors a top-quality experience.

The best of the destination

So that everyone’s hopes and tastes are catered for, Bouches-du-Rhône Tourisme promotes must-see destinations which take visitors off the beaten track, using its deep understanding of the area and its neutral role as a non-profit organisation.

Rose

Rosé : la couleur de l'été

Découvrez

La Provence : 1ère région française productrice de vins rosés

A l’instar du vin, le rosé n’est défini ni défendu par aucun texte législatif. La controverse du mélange blanc mélangé à du rouge a donc de beaux jours devant elle. Longtemps peu considérée, la couleur rose est aujourd’hui devenue celle de l’été. L’engouement du consommateur a poussé le vinificateur à de réels progrès. A moins que ça ne soit l’inverse... Entre gris, fruité, sec, frais, le choix est désormais vaste pour des vins de soif qui évoluent de plus en plus vers ceux d’excellence, avec de réelles « étiquettes de noblesse ».

L'heure de l'apéro

Cave de rosé

Le vin rosé est le plus ancien que l’on connaisse. Il est apparu sur les rivages méditerranéens, il y a plus d’un millier d’années. L’étude des représentations grecques ou égyptiennes montre une élaboration de vins clairs qui ressemble à celle du rosé, à partir de raisins foulés ou pressés et sans macération (qui est la base de fabrication du vin rouge). Dans les monastères, on est assez fan de ce vinum clarum, ancêtre du clairet bordelais. La Renaissance garde elle aussi ce goût du ni blanc ni rouge, en attestent des détails de carafes et de verres des peintures flamandes ou hollandaises. Ce n’est qu’à partir du XVIIIe s. que les préférences évoluent du rosé vers le rouge. Après la crise du phylloxera, on replantera donc en raisins particulièrement colorés. Alors que le rosé a guidé la consommation pendant des siècles, la préférence passe alors nettement au rouge. Le rosé ne compte pour presque plus rien dans le marché du vin, avant de connaître tout récemment, un regain d’attention. Désormais, la tendance revient au rose. La consommation a triplé en 20 ans pour atteindre en 2013, un tiers de la consommation totale de vin. Accessible, désaltérant, varié, facile, de couleur chaleureuse, ce vin fait souffler sur la table comme un vent de liberté.

Rose ou rosé ?

"Quand le vin est tiré, il faut le boire, surtout s'il est bon."
- Marcel Pagnol

En Provence, plus gros pourvoyeur de la couleur, les vignes sont arrivées avec les Grecs de Phocée qui ont implanté des pieds jusque dans la cité. Marseille est en effet né avec la vigne. Des pépins de marc de raison ont été retrouvés dans les récentes fouilles du quartier Bourse. La route des vins borde de grands sites naturels. De Sainte-Victoire aux coteaux dominants de Cassis, les paysages de vignes offrent de magnifiques tableaux diversifiés. La vigne colle à la Provence comme le thym et la farigoulette. Partout dans la région, le vignoble croise la pierre et les oliviers. Vin et huile d’olive se côtoient couramment dans les domaines qui n’oublient ni l’art ni la gastronomie. Festival Jazz à Beaupré, Festival Music en vignes au Château Paradis, art et architecture dans les vignes au Château La Coste, la Provence allie habilement la culture de l’esprit à celle du palais. Le rosé a ainsi les faveurs du Sud parce qu’il fait particulièrement bien écho à sa cuisine. Agneau en croûte, petits farcis, loup au fenouil, sardines grillées, artichauts barigoule, rien ne lui résiste. Qu’elle soit de poisson ou de viande, toute cette cuisine aromatique méditerranéenne se plait en accords clairs. La région jouit de typicités différentes. Le cinsault du Cassis fournit des roses pâles, vins fruités et fins ; alors qu’un peu plus loin, dans les Baux-de-Provence, grenache ou mourvèdre rajoutent structure et caractère. En Provence, les rosés saumonés restent légers, fruités, tendres, nerveux et aromatiques. Dans le verre comme dans l’assiette, la palette est riche pour qui aurait envie de savourer une Méditerranée rosée.

A faire

Château de Calavon
Vins

Château de Calavon

Lambesc

Une magnifique cave en plein centre de la petite ville de Lambesc. Mariant tradition et modernité, le Château de Calavon produit des vins depuis l’époque des Princes d’Orange. Des trésors de goût à découvrir au cœur d’une ville au charme ancien.

Bars et Cafés
Guide

Bars et Cafés

Où boire un verre et se retrouver entre amis dans les Bouches-du-Rhône ? Bars, cafés ou salons de thé, faites votre choix parmi tous ces lieux sélectionnés.

01 janvier au 23 décembre
Dégustation de vins "de la vigne à l'olivier"
Gastronomie

Dégustation de vins "de la vigne à l'olivier"

Salon de Provence

3 types de dégustation : - "La Cave Ouverte" : les participants décident des bouteilles qu'ils veulent déguster. - "Dégustation à thème" : vallée du Rhône, Bourgogne, Whisky, etc... -"Présence d'un(e) vigneron(ne)" : le(la) vigneron(ne) présente ses vins.

Tout l'agenda

Inspirations

Art de Vivre

L'OM

En savoir plus
Art de Vivre

Les Calanques

En savoir plus
Art de Vivre

La Sieste

En savoir plus
Plus d'inspirations