Paul Cézanne

The forerunner of modern art, Cézanne is fittingly celebrated today in his home town of Aix-en-Provence, magnificently portrayed in his work. For the last 40 years, this illustrious painter has been setting the pace for the region's artistic life.

Discover

Cézanne the man from Aix

Born in 1839, Cézanne went to school in Aix where he met Emile Zola. After passing his literary baccalaureate, he followed the future writer to Paris in 1961: he wanted to become a painter. The experience was disappointing: Cézanne went back and forth between the capital and Aix, a denied artistic vocation – and his father's bank. He often returned to the South where he painted in Marseille's Estaque quarter, before joining the Impressionist movement. In 1886, Zola published L’Œuvre, whose wretched hero was inspired by his friend's life and artistic quest. In line with Claude Lantier, Cézanne's paintings became increasingly ambitious: moving away from small Impressionist touches, he set about painting the Bibémus quarry and Sainte Victoire mountain, flirting with a form of abstraction... He rented out a small cottage there in 1895 and, in the same year, the art dealer Ambroise Vollard scheduled his first exhibition in Paris. In 1901, the artist moved to a house overlooking Aix where he set up his studio – it was here that he painted his finest works, including The Bathers, until his death in 1906 at the heights of his creativity.

An astonishingly young ancestor

Paradoxically, it was through painting the region's now-famous natural sites that Cézanne developed a more radical approach to art. The Sainte Victoire series, which includes around 80 versions, was based on the concept of variations and dates back virtually to the same period as Claude Monet's Nymphéas. A little technical revolution allowed the artist to refine his style: the invention of the Lefranc paint tube allowed him to paint free-hand. In his series, Cézanne wanted to "unite the curves of women and the shoulders of hills" by altering their shapes, perspectives and colours. During discussions with his artist friends, Picasso told him he was the "father of us all" and Matisse considered him the founder of modern art. Bruno Ely, director of the Musée Granet since 2008, confirms: "From 1880 onwards, Cézanne went beyond Impressionism; he abandoned little touches of juxtaposition in favour of coloured backgrounds, which carved out the perspective in a totally new way and was the predecessor of the 'facet' found in Cubist works.

Rebirth in Aix

Although Aix-en-Provence was impregnated with the life and artistic visions of Paul Cézanne, his paintings were not celebrated in the town until decades later. Bruno Ely remembers: "Until the Eighties, there wasn't a single painting by Cézanne at the museum. Over 40 years work with my predecessor Denis Coutagne was needed to present a retrospective. Cézanne's career has finally been celebrated thanks to the Musée Granet, the sites he painted and at major shows." The prestigious exhibitions staged at the newly-refurbished Musée Granet between 1990 and 2005 made up for its inability to purchase the artist's works, which had become impossibly expensive. But the method bore fruit beyond the museum's wildest dreams: in 2006 Cézanne en Provence attracted over 450,000 visitors. "This event showed the decision-makers that Cézanne is an essential part of Aix's heritage", asserts Bruno Ely. "Thanks to its success, we are now in a position to collaborate with international institutions". Picasso-Cézanne in 2009 and Le Grand Atelier du Midi – the star exhibition of the Marseille-Provence Capital of Culture 2013 year - went to prove that modern art partly stems from Cézanne's legacy. "The Musée Granet and Aix Town Council has strived to ensure this town becomes Cézanne's town, even if Cézanne is no longer here", concludes Bruno Ely.

Today, the Cézanne itinerary (1) guides visitors to all the sites portrayed by the artist and includes a memorable stop-off at a place frozen in time – the 'Atelier Cézanne' studio (2). Set on Colline des Lauves hill, it was here that the artist painted his finest works. Preserved since his death, the ancient farm has remained just as it was: in the gentle northern light that filters through the bay window, visitors can observe the original objects used as models for his still-lifes and even his raincoat... A hatch on the side of the building shelters copies of his oversized works, such as the Large Bathers, now the pride and glory of museums throughout the world.

Cézanne today

The Henri Cueco 'Revoir Cézanne' tribute exhibition recently held at Musée Granet made a fitting point: Cézanne's work constantly needs to be revisited to celebrate the way in which he enhanced our classic and impressionist heritage. Indeed, the visual effects produced by his works could be said to resemble Glitch Art... Bruno Ely confirms: "Cézanne opened several doors to modern art and virtually every modern-day artist quotes him as an inspiration, not only in Europe, but in the United States too. Jasper Johns is mad about Cézanne and has created a whole series inspired by his Large Bathers" (see illustration). Since 1986, far from the auction houses and multi-million-dollar deals, the Victory Club, an art collective led by Jeffrey Greenwood and Pierre Savar has been offering an offbeat, humoristic and provocative approach to Sainte Victoire mountain, in striking contrast to the traditionalist take of the 'Provencaliste' school. Cézanne's work has so largely infiltrated 20th century art that pinpointing his influence isn't always an easy task. It's like starting out to climb the expansive Sainte Victoire: Cézanne is everywhere, but you can't necessarily see it.

Things to do

Cézanne
Holiday rental

Cézanne

Arles

In the middle of the country, ideal for exploring the Alpilles, Camargue or Arles. Sunny rooms, quality furnishings( flat scree TV) Adjacent to gite 110303 and another seasonal rental property. Owner 600 m away. High ground floor: built in kitchen, laundry, large living room/ lounge opened on a…

Cezanne's studio - The Lauves studio
Museum

Cezanne's studio - The Lauves studio

Aix en Provence

Atelier des Lauves is a real place of memories, where Cézanne has left his mark. On 1st September 1902, Cézanne gradually settled into his large country studio. He worked there every day during the last four years of his life. All of Cézanne's admirers are well aware that this is where you…

The Bibemus Quarries
Monument

The Bibemus Quarries

Aix en Provence

The ochre molasse quarries of Bibemus used to supply the pale stone that is so characteristic of numerous monuments in the city of Aix en Provence. Situated between the route du Tholonet and the route de Vauvenargues, Bibémus refers to a rocky plateau, part of which was used as a stone quarry…

The entire agenda

Inspirations

Lifestyle

Villages of Provence

Read more
Tradition

Marcel Pagnol

Read more

Lights, Camera, Action! Provence and the Movies

Read more
More inspirations

Paul Cézanne

Inventeur de la modernité en peinture, Cézanne est célébré comme il se doit dans sa ville d’Aix-en-Provence, qu’il a magnifié en œuvres. Depuis quarante ans, sa figure rythme la vie artistique régionale.

Découvrez

Né en 1839, Cézanne effectue toute sa scolarité à Aix où il rencontre Emile Zola. Après avoir décroché son bac de lettres, il suit le futur écrivain à Paris en 1961 : il veut être peintre.
L’expérience est décevante : Cézanne effectue des allers-retours entre la capitale et Aix, une confirmation artistique qui se refuse à lui et la banque paternelle. Il revient souvent dans le sud, peint à l’Estaque puis intègre le mouvement impressionniste. En 1886, Zola fait paraître L’Œuvre, dont la figure de peintre maudit s’inspire de son ami et de sa recherche picturale. Comme Claude Lantier, la peinture de Cézanne devient en effet de plus en plus ambitieuse : s’éloignant des petites touches de l’Impressionnisme, il s’attelle à des vues des Carrières de Bibémus et de la Sainte-Victoire, flirtant avec une forme d’abstraction... Il y loue un cabanon en 1895, la même année le marchand d’art Ambroise Vollard organise sa première exposition personnelle à Paris. Le peintre investit en 1901 un terrain dominant Aix pour y établir son atelier, où il réalisera ses grandes pièces dont Les Baigneuses, jusqu’à sa mort en 1906 au sommet de sa créativité.

Bande-annonce film Cézanne et moi  de Danièle Thompson (2016)

Bande-annonce film Cézanne et moi de Danièle Thompson (2016)

C’est paradoxalement au contact de sites naturels aujourd’hui bien connus de la région que Cézanne va radicaliser son propos artistique. La série de la Sainte-Victoire, dont il existe près de quatre-vingt versions, repose sur l’idée de la variation, quasiment à la même période que Claude Monet et ses Nymphéas. Une petite révolution technique permet au peintre d’affirmer son style : l’invention du tube de peinture Lefranc l’autorise à créer « sur le motif ». Dans cette synthèse picturale, Cézanne voulait "unir des courbes de femmes à des épaules de collines" en relativisant formes, perspectives et couleurs. C’est pour cette raison que, s’adressant à ses amis artistes, Picasso disait de lui qu’il était « le père de nous tous », Matisse considérait Cézanne comme le fondateur de l’art moderne. Bruno Ely, directeur du Musée Granet depuis 2008, confirme : « Cézanne a su dès 1880 dépasser l’impressionnisme, il a abandonné la petite touche juxtaposée au profit de ce que l’on qualifie de “plans colorés” qui creusent la perspective d’une manière totalement nouvelle et qui est à l’origine de la “facette” du cubisme».

Atelier Cézanne

Visitez l'atelier Cézanne à Aix-en-Provence

Vue de l'atelier Cézanne

Sur les traces Cézanne dans son atelier (photo de S.SPITERI

Si Aix-en-Provence est imprégnée de la vie et des visions artistiques de Paul Cézanne, il faudra attendre des décennies pour que sa peinture soit célébrée dans sa ville natale. Bruno Ely se rappelle : «jusque dans les années 1980, il n’y avait aucun tableau de Cézanne au Musée... Il a fallu un travail de plus de quarante ans avec mon prédécesseur Denis Coutagne, pour présenter ses œuvres. La question Cézanienne a pu être développée, au Musée Granet mais aussi sur les sites et grâce aux grandes expositions. » Les expositions prestigieuses, que la rénovation du Musée Granet de 1990 à 2005 va permettre, vont compenser l’impossibilité d’acquérir les œuvres de l’artiste, dont les prix sont inaccessibles. La méthode va porter ses fruits au-delà de toute espérance : en 2006 Cézanne en Provence attire plus de 450 000 visiteurs. «C’est l’étape qui confirme auprès des décideurs que Cézanne est un artiste essentiel pour le patrimoine et le territoire d’Aix assure Bruno Ely. Grâce à ce succès nous aurons l’occasion de collaborer avec des institutions internationales». Picasso-Cézanne en 2009 ou Le Grand Atelier du Midi l’exposition-phare de Marseille-Provence Capitale de la Culture 2013, feront la démonstration que la modernité repose en partie sur l’héritage de l’Aixois. «Le Musée Granet et la Ville d’Aix ont travaillé à ce que cette ville sans Cézanne devienne la ville de Cézanne» conclut Bruno Ely.
Aujourd’hui le parcours Cézanne guide le visiteur à travers tous les sites cézanniens, faisant une halte hors du temps à l’Atelier Cézanne. Sur la colline des Lauves, le peintre a produit le meilleur de son œuvre. Préservé depuis sa mort, l’ancienne ferme est restée en l’état : on y observe, sous la lumière douce du nord que laisse filtrer sa baie vitrée, les objets d’époque qui servaient de modèles à l’artiste et même son imperméable. Une trappe sur le côté de la bâtisse permet d’en sortir les œuvres sur-dimensionnées, telles les Grandes Baigneuses qui font la gloire des grands musées dans le monde.

Les pavés Cézanne dans les rues d'Aix-en-Provence

Aix-en-Provence, la ville de Cézanne

Les grandes biagneuses

Une oeuvre d'art: " les grandes baigneuses"

Comme le proposait encore récemment l’exposition Cueco au Musée Granet, il faut toujours « Revoir Cézanne », pour la sublimation qu’il a su effectuer de l’héritage pictural classique et impressionniste : les effets visuels de ses tableaux ne sont-ils d’ailleurs pas proches du glitch des arts multimédias ? Bruno Ely : « Cézanne ouvre plusieurs portes à l’art moderne et pratiquement tous les artistes de la jeune génération se revendiqueront de lui, non seulement en Europe mais aussi aux USA. Jasper Johns est un fou de Cézanne, il a notamment réalisé une série à partir de ses Grandes Baigneuses ». Depuis 1986, loin des salles de vente et des tractations à plusieurs millions de dollars, le Victory Club, collectif d’artistes emmené par Jeffrey Greenwood et Pierre Savar propose à Aix et Marseille une approche de la Sainte-Victoire décalée, humoristique et provocatrice, en opposition avec la vision traditionaliste des provençalistes. Déceler l’influence de l’artiste n’est pas toujours aisé tant son art a infusé au XXème siècle. C’est comme lorsqu’on part gravir la Montagne Sainte-Victoire : Cézanne est partout mais on ne le voit pas forcément.

Inspirations

Art de Vivre

Villages de Provence

En savoir plus
Tradition & Culture

Marcel Pagnol

En savoir plus
Plus d'inspirations