Office de Tourisme de Martigues
Martigues - Tourist office
In 1581, the town of Martigues was founded by the merger of three localities: Jonquières, Ile Brescon and Ferrière. Situated on the edge of Berre Lagoon, connected to the sea by the Caronte canal, it was once a small fishing port. It developed on a large scale with the construction of the Lavera oil industry complex.
Martigues is known as the "Venice of Provence" because of its many canals. It has a rich historical and cultural heritage. Places of interest include superb churches (Saint-Geniès, La Madeleine, in the Marseille baroque style, and the Chapel of the Annonciade), the rockery garden (from the Gallo-Roman era), 17th and 18th century mansions, and the Maison du chapeau du Gendarme ("The Gendarmes hat house").
From Saint Sebastien Bridge, there is a lovely view of the brightly-coloured boats moored along the canal and Brescon Quay. It is a favourite spot for painters, called the "the birds looking-glass".
A little outside the town is the chapel of Saint-Julien-les-Martigues; on the left-hand side, inside a wall, is a 1st century Gallo-Roman bas relief. To the south, the town of Martigues faces directly onto the sea. Carro is a charming little fishing port and pleasure port, well sheltered in a rocky bay, and there is a fine beach at La Couronne, where traces of neolithic settlements have been found.
When driving over the motorway viaduct that spans Berre Lagoon, there is a wonderful birds-eye view of Martigues, with all its colours and contrasts.
- Pets allowed
- Accessible for disabled
- Public car park, Public car park, various Parking
Information provided by OT Martigues
Maison du Tourisme
Rond-point De l'Hôtel de Ville
- 04 42 42 31 10
04 42 42 31 11